#### 2022 - 2024

## **Board Member Profiles**







Susan is a Specialist Periodontist in suburban Melbourne. She was the Chair of the Organising Committee for the 2022 RACDS Conference and chaired the RACDS Education Policy Committee.

Susan is a Past President of the ADAVB and Co-Chairs the Australian Dental Health Foundation Victoria committee. Susan has demonstrated to and examined postgraduate and undergraduate students in periodontics. She received her MRACDS(Perio) in 2011 and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Susan is the recipient of the 2021 ADA Valuable Service Award.

Susan was elected to the Board in 2018.



Dr Erin Mahoney Vice-President

Erin is a Specialist Paediatric Dental Consultant at Hutt Valley District Health Board in Wellington, New Zealand. Erin was awarded her FRACDS in 2002 and MRACDS (Paed) in 2008. Erin has worked as a specialist for many years in NZ and Australia and is involved in research and clinical practice. Erin has examined in the Fellowship and Membership for the college for over 9 years and has been the Chair of the RACDS NZ Committee for 5 years.

Erin was elected to the Board in 2018



A/Prof John Boucher AM

John has had a career-long involvement in dental education and assessment. He has been a teacher and examiner at the University of Melbourne for the past 40 years, an examiner for the Australian Dental Council for 26 years and more recently an examiner for the MRACDS for the past 6 years. John is a past president of the Dental Practice Board of Victoria and the Notifications Committee of the Dental Board of Australia. John is a past president of the Australian Dental Council.

John was elected to the Board in 2020



Dr Dale Gerke

Dale has been a College Fellow (GDP) for over thirty years, and more recently, a Specialist Member in prosthodontics. He has 50 years' experience in general and prosthodontic dentistry and is also involved in a number of varied businesses. He was the Chair of the SA/NT Regional Committee for four years. Dale is now providing his professional experience and knowledge to the RACDS Board, as well as offering business expertise to others.

Dale was elected to the Board in 2022.

### 2022 - 2024

# **Board Member Profiles**







Dimitra has been serving in public and private practice since arriving in Australia. While she has been contributing to teaching in universities, research in neuroscience, and in multiple committees in the ADA, she has also been actively involved with the College since 2008. She has experienced the journey of a candidate, a facilitator, mentor, examiner, Regional Committee member, A/Registrar and Chair of the Candidate Advisors Committee. Dimitra combines skills from her previous life in the corporate and the medico legal world.

Dimitra was elected to the Board in 2022.



Dr Hugh Trengrove MNZM

Hugh completed his undergraduate and postgraduate dental education at Otago University. He is currently working in a clinical leadership role as Service Clinical Director for Hospital & Specialist Dentistry in Auckland. Hugh is a Fellow by Examination (1993), is a past examiner for the Fellowship Examinations and has been a RACDS Board Member for two terms (2014-2018). Hugh has held various roles in the NZDA, NZ Defence Force and the public sector.

Hugh was elected to the Board in 2022.



Dr Robin Whyman

Robin is Chief Medical and Dental Officer and dental specialist at Te Whatu Ora Hawke's Bay in New Zealand. He has been clinical director at several New Zealand hospitals, Chief Dental Officer for the Ministry of Health and was on the New Zealand Dental Council for 10 years, including 3 years as Chair. Robin was a College Board Member from 2010-2014 and has been a member of NZ Regional Committee and the Board of Studies in Dental Public Health. Robin is a member of the NZ Institute of Directors.

Robin was elected to the Board in 2022.



Dr Barbara Woodhouse

Barbara gained fellowship by examination in 1984 and then FRACDS(OMS) in 1990, for which she subsequently examined. She has previously served on RACDS council and multiple committees, and for 15 years as a consultant at Royal Brisbane and Princess Alexandra Hospitals. She is now full time in private specialist OMS practice, serves on various hospital medical advisory and peri-operative committees and remains active in undergraduate, graduate and post graduate dental and medical education.

Barbara was elected to the Board in 2020

### 2022 - 2024

## **Board Member Profiles**







Momen is a specialist Periodontist and is currently holding the positions of Chair and Professor in Periodontology at MBRU in Dubai, Honorary Associate Professor at University of Otago, and Honorary Professor at University of Jordan. Momen completed DClinDent and PhD degrees at University of Otago and is the author of over 70 papers. He is currently leading multiple clinical trials and teaming up with the Cochrane Oral Health Group as a lead author. Momen is a fellow of International Team for Implantology (ITI), a member of the ITI research committee and Journal of Periodontology editorial board.

Momen was appointed to the Board in 2023.



Mr Tony Evans

Tony has extensive business, financial and corporate governance experience in the health, aged care, education, membership, insurance, property, government and not-for-profit sectors. He has been a member of various boards including the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine and the Australian Dental Council. Tony has a Bachelor of Business degree and a postgraduate Diploma in Education, and he is a Fellow of CPA Australia, the Governance Institute of Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Tony was appointed to the Board in 2021.